A parody “performance” worth watching

So I have this thing about parody songs. I love many of them expecially ones done by weird Al 🙂 I think my most fav so far is the newest one he did for his album Alpocalypse which was released in June. Word had spread to Lady Gaga and her staff about the song that weird Al had posted on Youtbe back in April of 2011, about this song where as he was also donating all the proceeds to the human rights charities, and eventually it was discovered Gaga herself had not yet heard the song and the denial had come from Gaga’s Public relations manager without her input. Lady Gaga is Weird Al fan, she then gave Yankovic the OK to include the song on his upcoming album after giving her manager a hard time on his denial, and said she loved the parody. Lady Gaga later stated that being parodied by Yankovic is a “rite of passage/privlage” and considered the song “very empowering”. Within a day of receiving permission to use the parody, Yankovic had reaffirmed the song’s inclusion on Alpocalypse and was able to set the day of release for the album. Her permission saved his release date which saved Al from having to create a new song for the album in which Perform this way was and now IS the main song/single on the album. I am happy all went well and those who pop by I really hope you enjoy this parody I still giggle like a school girl when I see it.

Here are the lyrics:

My mama told me when I was hatched
Act like a superstar
Save your allowance, buy a bubble dress
And someday you will go far
Now on red carpets, well, I’m hard to miss
The press follows everywhere I go
I’ll poke your eye out with a dress like this
Back off and enjoy the show!

I’m sure my critics will say it’s a grotesque display
Well, they can bite me, baby — I perform this way
I might be wearin’ Swiss cheese or maybe covered with bees
It doesn’t mean I’m crazy — I perform this way

Ooo, my little monsters pay… lots ’cause I perform this way
Baby, I perform this way
Ooo, don’t worry, I’m okay… hey, I just perform this way
I’m not crazy, I perform this way

I’ll be a troll or evil queen
I’ll be a human jelly bean
‘Cause every day is Halloween
For me…

I’m so completely original
My new look is all the rage
I’ll wrap my small intestines ’round my neck
And set fire to myself on stage
I’ll wear a porcupine on my head
On a W-H-I-M
And for no reason now I’ll sing in French
Excusez-moi, Qui a pété? (Who cut the cheese?)

Got my straight jacket today, it’s made of gold lamĂ©
No, not because I’m crazy – I perform this way
I strap prime rib to my feet, cover myself with raw meat
I’ll bet you’ve never seen a skirt steak worn this way

Don’t be offended when you see
My latest pop monstrosity
I’m strange, weird, shocking, odd, bizarre
I’m Frankenstein, I’m Avatar
There’s nothing too embarrassing
I’ll honestly do anything
But wear white after Labor Day
‘Cause baby, I perform this way

Hope you won’t think it’s clichĂ© if I go nude today
Don’t call the cops now, baby, I perform this way
No reason I should regret all the attention I get
I’m not completely crazy, I perform this way, yeah

I perform this way-hey, I perform this way-hey
I’m always deviating from the norm this way-hey
I perform this way-hey, I perform this way-hey
I’m really not insane — I just perform this way-hey

About Jaidemoon

Sylvia lives in Halifax NS in a well known neighbourhood called Spryfield Sylvia is also known in many writing circles as Lila Mosher. (her chosen pen name) She is in the process of getting her 1st book published, from a series called Steppin' Out that she's been working on for a few years (So far she's completed 4 books and the 5th one is almost done.) She's accomplished getting poetry published in the past but the most recent accomplishment was getting an article published in the Nova Scotia Advocate. (Something she's wanted to do for years) Sylvia has 2 children at home and is a altruistic lady who is forever trying to assist those in her community, she volunteers for the local food bank in her area and helps rescue cats though a rescue group she runs with her aunt called "Halicats". She firmly believes that kindness is a commodity and should be given freely. "I once was told as a teen... 'When storm clouds come rolling in, try to be someones rainbow.' I still try to do this on a daily basis." S. White. Sylvia Or Jaide in here has quite the following with her written works including a fan fiction series called Generation Ork. and several other stories that you can find on line. Check them out in the links on her blog.
This entry was posted in Fun stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a Reply

