Strike on the back of the tax payer

Image By Sylvia White, 2012 Dartmouth NS.

The cost of fuling buses on a monthly basis is about 600K

There are 763 drivers, mechanics and staff for Metro transit and Mayor Peter Kelly is stating that the cost to the city for their contract as is would be 10 million dollars over the year. This is if they keep what they have now. It’s already the current cost of running Metro Transit The Union wants to keep the contract they always had, but the Mayor refuses with the municipality to even negoitate, the riders are pissed at the drivers and the union to even compromise but the thing is the public has no idea on the REAL numbers when it comes to the costs. Mayor Peter Kelly is trying to save money on the backs of the union and the commuters to pay for that damn oval he had to rebuild this year.

He refuses to talk to the union and has cancelled a meeting because he felt there wasn’t enough “important” stuff to talk about in council for Tuesday, and this wait is all on the backs of the commuters. Before people go jumping the gun and getting all pissy at the drivers remember this, MONEY TALKS…

Each driver works 8 hours a day, there are 763 metro transit workers, for argument sakes we’re going to keep the wages they are paid the same as most of the drivers which is about 23 bucks an hour. So in 1 day each driver makes aproximatly $184 per day. You take this and figure out what they make bi-weekly which is about twenty six hundred ($2600) every two weeks. They pay into the following Rev canada taxes, CPP, EI Premiums, Union fees, Union dues, Pension, Medical, Insurance, and disability, a grand total every two weeks of approximately of ($1230) Twelve hundred and thirty dollars, they make about $1350 gross after thats all paid, meaning that EVERY single day they work they are paying ($80+) eighty plus dollars a day in taxes and fees. Oh and I KNOW, I know EVERYONE pays taxes, BUT…After this is ALL said and done the remainder is straight pay, something the city is currently not paying the workers as of right now, due to the strike, so think at 763 workers the city is supposedly saving about one million twenty five thousand every two weeks the workers are on strike. So the oval cost “at least $750,000 to $1 million” in capital costs. (Quoted from the coast) Which I might add is STILL yet to be paid for.

the cost of this Oval... 700K to 1.2 million ... where is the money coming from? The Strike helps pay for this...

So with this in mind, Mayor Peter Kelly will more than likely start the talks again by the 16th of Feburary MARK MY WORDS TO! As then there will be money avaliable to pay for the deficit on the Oval and he’ll be able to afford to move foward with the Union to get the buses back on the road. You think this is quincidence? Think again.

I FIRMLY believe this is EXACTALLY what he’s doing and all the people out there are bitching about Oh if your job is so stressful get a new one. or well if you don’t like whats being offered fire them all and hire new ones. How about this, how about someone tells YOU as a person who thinks this that what ever current job you have right now we strip you of ALL your rights as a working person. (even leagal ones) and tell you work harder, or get fired. Work more for less. and if that option is too stressful GET ANOTHER JOB! NOT so damn pleasant now is it.

I’m still to this date even if I am to walk EVERY SINGLE DAY till this strike is over on the drivers/unions side. Peter Kelly get your head out of your ass and do your job right. The “lawyer” tatics have gotten old. This is a city not a damn court room where you can say one thing and mean another just to get your ass out of a bind. as a tax payer I want my money paid on the services we need in this city, not some damn piece of ice that gets you nowhere!

About Jaidemoon

Sylvia lives in Halifax NS in a well known neighbourhood called Spryfield Sylvia is also known in many writing circles as Lila Mosher. (her chosen pen name) She is in the process of getting her 1st book published, from a series called Steppin' Out that she's been working on for a few years (So far she's completed 4 books and the 5th one is almost done.) She's accomplished getting poetry published in the past but the most recent accomplishment was getting an article published in the Nova Scotia Advocate. (Something she's wanted to do for years) Sylvia has 2 children at home and is a altruistic lady who is forever trying to assist those in her community, she volunteers for the local food bank in her area and helps rescue cats though a rescue group she runs with her aunt called "Halicats". She firmly believes that kindness is a commodity and should be given freely. "I once was told as a teen... 'When storm clouds come rolling in, try to be someones rainbow.' I still try to do this on a daily basis." S. White. Sylvia Or Jaide in here has quite the following with her written works including a fan fiction series called Generation Ork. and several other stories that you can find on line. Check them out in the links on her blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Strike on the back of the tax payer

  1. I need the bus to go for my physiotherapy for my shoulder, and to go to my Dr.s appointments, how am I going to get there, is Mayor Kelly going to pay for a taxi for me??? I don’t skate, I have arthritis in my spine, hands and knees. I need my Dr more then another ice rink. I needed the North cliff pool more then the hi priced Canada Games pool, which I cant afford to use; it was built for the rich, which I am not. I have been waiting to have my shoulder fixed for 2 1/2 years now , I just seen the specilist 2 weeks ago, she wants me to go for an ultra sound. She said it will take 8 months to get it done. Why is it my niece who is a lot younger, got hurt in December, has seen an orthopedic surgeon, has had all the x rays and ultrasound done and is getting treatment, and it only took her 8 weeks? Is it the fact I am 51 why? I now not only have a partly dislocated rotator cuff, after waiting 2 1/2 years if it is froze now, and I live in constant pain. Maybe our Mayor should cancel the Ice and fix the bus, and health care in our fair city/. Or maybe he is wacko from swimming in Halifax Harbor …please pass this on to Mayor Kelly…

  2. Lynn says:

    Hey it is very very sad how Mayor Kelly can get away with so much… Why don’t we take his car away for a few days and see how he gets back to work and home… It could be interesting to see. Better yet the Mayor walking to work…. All we can do is hope that the buses and drives go back to work… I travel the bus as well but lucky for me I also have a use of a car… But I too have walked… But it is sad to see those that are not able to get out for reason beyond there own well. We need to take a stand and do what is right and try to work together. As I have seen in the papers and here as well Mayor Kelly is not thinking of us at this time so why should we. People people this is a time to make ourselves proud to be Canadians and help those who are in this time of need. Don’t let it control you, you must take control of it… Good luck everyone and most of you all the bus drivers. You are very brave men and woman by taking a stand for your rights. I wish you all the best of luck….

    • I agree with you Lynn, unfortunately I am one of those people who hasn’t been out because of the strike, I walk to shoppers, but thats it, it is depressing, and there are others who have it even worse then me..

  3. Ottawain says:

    Hopefully the residents in Halifax can band toghter like the residents here did during out bus strike! People picking up hitchhiker, offering people rides to the grocery store , or work, i myself was walking along the road, and offered a ride to the mall to catch a shuttle bus to school! I know there are far more friendly people back home than there is here! So come on Haligonians be stereotypical for once and show some of that “East Coast Friendliness” and a tip to the union, maybe making Mr. Kelly have to wait a few hours to get to his parking spot at city hall, and waste some gas, will give him a small taste of what people all over his city are having to deal with.

Please leave a Reply

