Your bad behavior/addictions isn’t your kids fault!

So I noticed a few times while in my facebook world some disturbing shit. I’m serious, and it’s not from the Teens from now days, with their baggy ass pants and the trauma they put their parents through, NOPE it’s from the gawd damn parents themselves, and we wonder why kids behave so badly… GAWD! Pathetic excuses that call themselves Mom or Dad. You may wonder why I say this but I have my reasons.

I was told that a young man of 12 asked his parent how come they weren’t more “Dead” inside due to their drinking and I watched a response of, “I do fine, I only drink because of him” I was floored!!! I mean how the fuck pathetic do you have to be to blame YOUR bad habit on your kids? A 12 yr old at that! This person also has a younger child at home as well!

I’m sorry if people don’t like what I’m about to say but be damned if I’m going to sit back and listen to this bullshit. YOU’RE the adult! Don’t go blaming your shit on your kids! YOU as the adult know the difference between right and wrong! A cycle is something that repeats itself. What you do now is what effects your kids later in life. (No matter how tiny in your eyes!) Stopping a cycle no matter what it is; is a CHOICE not an excuse, not a damn crutch either!

“Oh I sexually abused kids because I was abused as a child.” <<< BULL FUCKING SHIT! Anyone willing to get help will stop the cycle.

“I drink cause of my kids, they drive me there.” <<< So your 5-year-old drives, Impressive! Asshole!

Do you see the effects? If not...You're blind!

Parents addictions DO have an affect on our kids… Don’t blame them blame yourself and get some help! I do not own this image, I send Thanks to Drugs.ie for the image.

“I smoke weed to get through my day, I just can’t handle the stress, my parents did it when I was younger what harm is there?” umm hello! I have nothing against recreational pot usage or if it’s for medical but for Pete’s sakes if you can’t get through one gawd damn day without being stoned then you’re a drug addict! Your kids see this and guess what, they think it’s NORMAL! When they grow up they will more than likely do it to and worse still nine times out of ten they will try something harder and more than likely KILL themselves!

NOW WHO”S TO BLAME?

Parents, for the love of god! STOP the CYCLE! Don’t blame your kids for your own stupid actions I don’t care HOW old they are. I don’t care if this child is one who is destroying their own lives, so long as you’re a parent and YOU’RE making an effort to get them on the straight and narrow then YOU are a better person. But if you’re going to sit back and blame your kids for your problems, guess what? YOU are a pathetic excuse of a parent and shouldn’t have your kids!

I really hate this and I have friends say “Mind your own business, don’t get involved” I’m sorry but when kids are living in an addictive home even if it’s indirectly; then guess what? It IS my business. you bet your ass I’m going to voice my opinion and make others aware that this is UNACCEPTABLE behavior for a parent.

I’ve been a foster parent to MANY teens who’s home life have been hell, I’ve been one myself and I DO NOT abuse drugs/booze because my parents did, I CHOSE to end the cycle, I went to counselling to learn things, I spoke to people, I took courses to help me cope so I didn’t have to rely on the same things my own parents did. EVEN when my oldest was causing me issues not once did I say “Oh I do this because my kid drove me to it” I LOVE my kids. I respect them enough to know that I make my OWN choices, they didn’t force me to.

So for those parents who blame their kids for their addictions… get a effin life and smarten the hell up, you need help GET IT!

It’s parents like this that end up losing their kids and I’m the one as a foster parent dealing with the after effects of what your bad behavior has inflicted upon their souls, lives and mental health! I watch kids battle their own addictions they end up in because they think it’s normal way of life, (Oh mom and dad did it!) I’ve lost TWO to some horrible addictions, all because they lived it and couldn’t escape. It’s a shame when the world comes down to “whose to blame” when parents should take a long hard look at themselves first when it comes to their own behavior/addictions. Sure not all of us parents are horrible… hell some of us are amazing people! It’s the ones who believe that they are doing nothing wrong when they abuse substances and then blame their kids for it that are fooling themselves… I just pray your own kids learn with help that they are NEVER the excuse. The only one to blame is the person inflicting the trauma.

About Jaidemoon

Sylvia lives in Halifax NS in a well known neighbourhood called Spryfield Sylvia is also known in many writing circles as Lila Mosher. (her chosen pen name) She is in the process of getting her 1st book published, from a series called Steppin' Out that she's been working on for a few years (So far she's completed 4 books and the 5th one is almost done.) She's accomplished getting poetry published in the past but the most recent accomplishment was getting an article published in the Nova Scotia Advocate. (Something she's wanted to do for years) Sylvia has 2 children at home and is a altruistic lady who is forever trying to assist those in her community, she volunteers for the local food bank in her area and helps rescue cats though a rescue group she runs with her aunt called "Halicats". She firmly believes that kindness is a commodity and should be given freely. "I once was told as a teen... 'When storm clouds come rolling in, try to be someones rainbow.' I still try to do this on a daily basis." S. White. Sylvia Or Jaide in here has quite the following with her written works including a fan fiction series called Generation Ork. and several other stories that you can find on line. Check them out in the links on her blog.
This entry was posted in Life's little dramas, Mommie moments and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a Reply

