Sick kids, scared moms. I’ve been there too many times.

Since my daughter was born she’s always seemed to have tummy and breathing problems. She hardly slept, cried lots and pretty much turned me into a content, but sleep deprived zombie who really only wanted to have the proper support from the other parental in our home. (I; needless to say; never got that but that’s another story all together)

When my daughter was 2 months old I started to sleep with her right beside me in her crib with my hand on her back or side. Soon as she gasped or stopped breathing I was WIDE awake and rubbing her back; even if it woke her it was better than her not breathing at all. Most times she’s just take a breath and drift back off; other times she’s take a huge gasping breath and shriek on top of her lungs because it scared her. (It scared the hell out of me to) after a while I HAD no choice but to move out of my own bed room into my daughters room (Her father wasn’t too happy with her crying and was VERY vocal about it.) I started sleeping with her propped up on my belly surrounded with pillows at my sides and her wrapped and tucked against me so she wouldn’t slip off. If she stopped breathing in her sleep I was ALWAYS aware of it. If she woke and cried due to her stomach bothering her, I was better able to clam her without too many worries of waking her father. (Save for a few occasions… none which ended; sadly; too kindly) I was a concerned mom who wasn’t getting much sleep with a little girl who had me torn inside because I couldn’t make her feel better. I HATED that feeling of being helpless in not being able to make her happy. Her god mom and I along with a few friends started asking questions regarding the issues she was having. A family member of her god mothers; who is a nurse; made suggestions and I followed up on them. My daughter was checked for reflux and GERD. Sure enough this was one of the issues she was facing. She was checked for asthma a month later and I learned it was strong smells and cold air that seemed to trigger that. I then started asking about her gasping and other issues and was asked to watch her throat and to let her pediatrician Dr know just what was going on. In about 6 months time we figured out she was dealing with a constant case of thrush, called systemic thrush.

At 10 months old; just days after her father walked out on us both; I learned she had sleep apnea and the systemic thrush wasn’t helping it any as it was causing her tonsils and adenoids to swell too much; too often causing the “gasping” and extreme snoring for a child of her size and age. Sadly I couldn’t afford the C-pac for her to breathe right at night. (and I couldn’t get a hold of her father after he left to get any assistance) It wasn’t covered under our medical either. So as the mom I am I did everything I could to make her comfortable, regardless of the fact that I didn’t have her father’s help. I propped up MY bed; the window was left cracked for air flow, my daughter stayed in with me (Co-Sleeping) she never left my side, and slept straddled over my belly with her head on my shoulder. We were always surrounded with pillows to prevent rolling out of bed and to keep her on me so I could feel her breathing, and even though I didn’t sleep much I managed to care for her, my oldest son and go back to school as well… (let me tell you it’s not easy maintaining a 90 average on 5 hours sleep a day; but I did it!)

Fast forward to nearly two years later, a graduated mamma who missed lots of time from school for her little ones appointments and we learn there’s an option to help my baby girl feel better. Her ENT Dr. suggested surgery for her adenoids and I was happy to go with this, her tonsils were brought up as well since these were an issue which cause problems with the sleep apnea she was dealing with. I told her Dr I wasn’t going to “fight” to get her tonsils removed, if they needed to be done then I would like them to deal with it now and not in say 5 years time making her lose out on more school like I did as a child. He agreed and we worked together on proving the need for removal as the medical society doesn’t like to see removals done on young children as there’s potential for bleeding and other high risks. Every week for months I took pictures of her throat, her tonsils stayed at a level 3 in swelling (5 being sever and was in need of intubation) Two times she landed in the hospital from her tonsils being so badly inflamed they came VERY close to putting a tube down her throat to help her breath, I tell you that was the MOST terrifying thing I’ve dealt with in ages! They had “pustules” growing off of them and Dr’s in emergency could scrape them off, it made her breath stink pretty badly. Antibiotics didn’t work, she had too many allergies to most and getting them into her was HELL! Her ENT Dr stepped in and with the pictures and the emergency visits he got approval to do her tonsils as well. Let’s just say I breathed a sigh of relief when I received the news that it was going forward.

My daughter at 2 years and 7 months of age (VERY young by medical standards) had her adenoids and tonsils removed. She was admitted to the IWK after her surgery for observation and to make sure there wasn’t any complications. Her ENT Dr was and is still quite pleased at her recovery. She’s drinking very well, playing as well . Her pain levels are moderate and she is still sleeping beside me but in her own bed and she’s not snoring as loudly anymore (Though she still does, her Dr said this WILL go away in due time!) Her voice changed some which threw me off but LOL it’s OK she should hopefully sound like herself again soon.

As much as I don’t like to see my kids in pain, this surgery is one of the best things I think I agreed to get done for my daughter. She needed it and hopefully it will in the long run help with her gasping issues and the snoring should subside. (Fingers crossed) I’ll update as she mends. (So if you follow this please check back every few days) She’s doing pretty well today even though she’s dealing with some extensive swelling tonight. Pain management is working for her. Keeping fluids into her is my only concern right now but she’s doing well so as long as she keeps drinking she should be good.

Till Later:

Jaide.

About Jaidemoon

Sylvia lives in Halifax NS in a well known neighbourhood called Spryfield Sylvia is also known in many writing circles as Lila Mosher. (her chosen pen name) She is in the process of getting her 1st book published, from a series called Steppin' Out that she's been working on for a few years (So far she's completed 4 books and the 5th one is almost done.) She's accomplished getting poetry published in the past but the most recent accomplishment was getting an article published in the Nova Scotia Advocate. (Something she's wanted to do for years) Sylvia has 2 children at home and is a altruistic lady who is forever trying to assist those in her community, she volunteers for the local food bank in her area and helps rescue cats though a rescue group she runs with her aunt called "Halicats". She firmly believes that kindness is a commodity and should be given freely. "I once was told as a teen... 'When storm clouds come rolling in, try to be someones rainbow.' I still try to do this on a daily basis." S. White. Sylvia Or Jaide in here has quite the following with her written works including a fan fiction series called Generation Ork. and several other stories that you can find on line. Check them out in the links on her blog.
This entry was posted in Life's little dramas, Mommie moments and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a Reply

