A dream comes true.

It started with a story rattling in my head 20 years ago. Several characters created from personalities of people I knew. Some who’d long passed (A few sadly at their own hands.) but the notion to breath life back into their lost future wasn’t something I could let go. A story that had so much of my own life within it, chances to show a world I lived where intolerance ran rapid how to see the beauty in everyone who loves someone. So I created my little world called Steppin’ Out.

The story is based between Halifax NS, and Ottawa Ontario. In the beginning I had decided to call Halifax and Ottawa by pseudo names Curre and Kearney; but then changed my mind.  I felt that it was best to leave the story where it first started.

The story follows the lives of two young men who start their journey with one saving the other, but ultimately they end up saving each other. This story follows them along their life journey in coming out to their community. The challenges they faced. Learning about acceptance, and growing as a couple; not just on their own but with everyone their lives touch.

This is just book one of several. (4 are completed and the 5th is in the works with 2 more slated to be added and possible more…who knows) Each book ties these two people with their friends, their community. How they all face tragedy, learning as a a dynamic group of people in a cruel and sometimes unforgiving world for those from the queer community.  Each book touches on each different set of friends, their dreams, goals and with a touch of magic, fantasy and a touch of drama to bring it all together.

It took me 20 years to complete this bucket list item. My goal/dream. Now I get to see my story sold to those who want to hear it. I almost gave up twice… but kept going when I felt it was for nothing. Today I got to hold my dreams in my hand. Today, I truly feel that I am an author.

I give thanks to my friends; Linda Sejic who did the cover art for my book and
Shaun Vyas from Callisto Printing in Halifax NS who helped get it printed.
and above all Love to my kids Ḉamaya and Bryan for sticking by me while this was all happening.

Jaide

About Jaidemoon

Sylvia lives in Halifax NS in a well known neighbourhood called Spryfield Sylvia is also known in many writing circles as Lila Mosher. (her chosen pen name) She is in the process of getting her 1st book published, from a series called Steppin' Out that she's been working on for a few years (So far she's completed 4 books and the 5th one is almost done.) She's accomplished getting poetry published in the past but the most recent accomplishment was getting an article published in the Nova Scotia Advocate. (Something she's wanted to do for years) Sylvia has 2 children at home and is a altruistic lady who is forever trying to assist those in her community, she volunteers for the local food bank in her area and helps rescue cats though a rescue group she runs with her aunt called "Halicats". She firmly believes that kindness is a commodity and should be given freely. "I once was told as a teen... 'When storm clouds come rolling in, try to be someones rainbow.' I still try to do this on a daily basis." S. White. Sylvia Or Jaide in here has quite the following with her written works including a fan fiction series called Generation Ork. and several other stories that you can find on line. Check them out in the links on her blog.
This entry was posted in Life's little dramas, Special moments in my life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a Reply

